Ten Movies That Will Change Your Life

Alfred Hitchcock said, “A good film is when the price of the dinner, the theatre admission and the babysitter were worth it.” I absolutely love movies and finding ones that are worth the price. For those who know me, I am picky with which movies I choose. I refrain from watching movies that contain sex, nudity, explicit profanity, and graphic violence, to keep my mind clear. Through the years, I have seen many movies.  Listed below are ten wholesome movies that have influenced my life and I have included links to the trailers for each movie, as well.

1.       Life Is Beautiful (1997)

I watched this incredible movie when I was facing some tough situations during high school. The movie focuses on a Jewish Italian father who keeps his family optimistic during dark times in Italy. Thanks to this movie I strive to be optimistic during hard times and to have a sense of humor to brighten everyone’s day up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16RZHqCIy9M

2.       Ballad of a Soldier (1959)

This movie is based in Russia during the Second World War and focuses on a nineteen-year-old soldier named Alexei Skvortsov. Alexei is awarded a medal for taking out two advancing German tanks. Instead of receiving the medal, he asks if he can trade it to go home and see his Mom and help her repair the roof of their home. He is given this privilege and on his long journey home, he is able to touch the lives of many fellow Russians through many selfless acts of service.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gw6omDDF7Gg&playnext=1&list=PLE1B8CDE471D1BBD9&feature=results_main

3.       To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)

This is the film adaption of Harper Lee’s famous novel on the story of a lawyer in Maycomb, Alabama, who faces much opposition from his own friends and neighbors while defending an innocent black man accused of raping a white girl. This movie taught me to have empathy for those around you, even those who are completely different than you. I love this movie because it shows human nature at its absolute best and also its absolute worst.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR7loA_oziY

4.       The Blind Side (2009)

This movie has a special place in my heart since as a volunteer missionary for my church I worked in projects that were exactly identical to those shown in this movie. Based on a true story, this movie is about how a white family in Memphis, Tennessee, adopted a homeless, black teenage boy and how the boy went on to become an all-star football player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I24d30buecw

5.       War Horse (2011)

The movie focuses on an extraordinary horse that switches owners multiple times during the First World War. It shows the war from many different angles of those affected and also how pure charity does still exist, even in one of the ugliest wars the world has ever seen. I love how this film focuses on people going out of their way in less than ideal situations to make the day of those around them and to bring light into a horrendous war.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhueHIXbTF4

6.       A Night To Remember (1958)

I have been fascinated with the Titanic disaster ever since 1996. There have been many film adaptions that have been made of the disaster, but this one is, by far, the best. I personally feel it’s the most accurate depiction of the disaster. It puts you in the shoes of those on board and the critical decisions they made. It’s in life or death situations such as this that you see people’s true colors and exactly what they possess. The movie teaches that you don’t have to be a high ranking leader to be remembered and that anyone can be a hero.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEbr-FRI10U

7.       The Other Side of Heaven (2001)

This movie focuses on the true story of John H. Groberg, a young Mormon missionary from Idaho Falls, Idaho, that embarks on his service mission to Tonga and changes the lives of many people, including himself. This movie alone helped inspire me to go on a mission for my church and realize that miracles still do happen in our day. I had the privilege of seeing the real John H. Groberg at Brigham Young University-Idaho when he spoke. You may not share the same faith as me but I know that you will be inspired from this touching, remarkable story.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dKsHYzIoUI

8.       Remember the Titans (2000)

I am sure many of you have heard about this movie already and have seen it. The movie focuses on the true story of a brand new African-American coach uniting his high school football team as a racially integrated unit and how they were able to overcome their own prejudices to become a successful football team.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPhu9XsRl4M

9.       Captain Abu Raed (2007)

I saw this movie just a few weeks ago. This Jordanian movie focuses on a widowed Jordanian man named Abu Raed, who works as a janitor at an airport. He seeks to bring happiness to those around him in his city of Salt, Jordan. This includes befriending a lonely pilot, inspiring the children in his neighborhood, and helping a woman escape her abusive husband. Filled with humor and inspiration, this is a movie you won’t want to miss.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ymg5n0yIvVY

10.   Gandhi (1982)

A lengthy movie to watch in one sitting but one that will change your life and teach you exactly how to react when you are treated poorly like Gandhi was. At the time when I saw this movie, I was being treated unfairly and was worried that one day I would react angrily. When I saw this movie, I was better able to deal with those treating me unjustly. You will find many lessons you can use in your own life from the legendary life of Gandhi.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wihfqAGkd2c

Your movie suggestions:______________

Would love to hear of movies that have inspired you, so please leave a comment or send me an email.

4 thoughts on “Ten Movies That Will Change Your Life

Leave a Reply

