A Small Kindness

Image

A Chinese Proverb says, “Do not forget small kindnesses and do not remember small faults.” I would like to share one unforgettable act of kindness that happened to me on May 26, 2007 at a graveyard overlooking the small dusty towns of Hurricane and Toquerville, Utah.

 

I was at the funeral of my baby cousin who had died before birth. Her death had shaken our entire family, especially me. I was, and still am, very close to all of my younger relatives in my large extended family. I love playing with them and just hearing about all that is going on in their lives.

 

At the time, I just couldn’t understand how I had been blessed with already seventeen years of life and my cousin hadn’t even received one day. I was close with her parents, my aunt and uncle, and felt terrible for them.

 

I was standing off to the right of the large group that had congregated in front of my cousin’s casket. My Dad was asked to officiate and lead the funeral. As the funeral began, I noticed my six-year-old cousin, Autumn, standing next to me. She must have sensed how much I was hurting inside. She stood close to me and took my hand into hers. What may have seemed a small insignificant act to her at the time was a monumental act of “kindness” I still remember today.

 

Eventually, I was able to sort through those difficult emotions. I still don’t understand why some of us leave this life sooner but I do know that God doesn’t take us before our time. I also know that one day we will see our loved ones again and that death is not a goodbye.

 

My cousin Autumn was only six and made a difference in my life as I stood next to the gravesite of our baby cousin. Think of all you can do to help those around you. You don’t have to save their home from burning down (although I would encourage you to do that if the opportunity presents itself) but find a small act of kindness you can do for someone every day. I can assure you that it most likely will not soon be forgotten 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Small Kindness

  1. really nice and toching story, I love the fact that we can reunited with our love ones in the end. I lost my grandma some years ago and I just miss her so much. Thank you for sharing this chinese Proverb 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

