Dreams

Image

“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.” — James Dean, American movie actor

Throughout my life, I have worked with people whose dreams have been crushed or have lost hope to pursue them because of their circumstances. I feel that any honorable dream is worth fighting for and that it can be accomplished if we keep trying.

One dream I have had is to be able to provide for my family in a bad economy. I am sure this dream is one that many of you share. I have met people who didn’t take advantage of educational opportunities and are now in positions where they cannot provide for themselves. When I was walking around a run-down trailer park in Georgia years ago, I promised myself that I would do whatever it took to get a good education and to be a provider for my family. I have learned in my college years that that can be a sacrifice because sometimes it requires postponing activities with friends and other recreational pursuits in order to get good grades in school. Such dreams, I feel, are worth of making sacrifices for.

Sometimes dreams take a while to accomplish—even a lifetime. We may run into obstacles and disappointments. We may wonder, “How can I ever acheive this goal? It seems like I keep on running into obstacles and I’m doomed to failure.”

History is filled with a myriad of examples of individuals who have gone through opposition to help change the world! Patience can be hard to grasp when a dream seems impossible, but when we reach the finish line we realize it was well worth the price.

Our own peers may tell us that the chances of our dreams succeeding are slim. I’d like to reference a brief example of two dreams I accomplished recently and will share more about them in future posts. For all of my life there have been two goals on my bucket list.  The chances of both of them being realized were slim but I still wanted to give it a try. The first one was to talk to a Holocaust survivor. One night on Facebook, I posted on my status, asking my friends if they knew of any Holocaust survivors. A friend of mine from church referred me to an incredible Holocaust survivor, Stephen Nasser. I was shocked when he allowed me, a complete stranger, to come into his home and interview him about his experiences. I will publish the incredible lessons I learned from Stephen Nasser in future posts. My second bucket list goal was to interview someone who personally knew Anne Frank. Anne Frank has been a role model of mine ever since I can remember. After lots of searching and e-mailing, I was presented with two amazing opportunities. Buddy Elias, Anne Frank’s only surviving relative, has agreed to be interviewed by me via e-mail. I am also waiting to hear back from Anne Frank’s best friend, Hanneli Goslar, as well.

Make a list of dreams you’ve always wanted to accomplish and start working towards them. This week was my country’s Independence Day which allows the freedom to pursue worthy goals. Take advantage of all the opportunities that are placed before you. Work each day towards your dreams as if each day was your last. When you look back, you will see, like I do, that no dream is impossible!

6 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Zach, this is beautiful! Those are both very worthwhile dreams! I am so impressed that you were willing to just go out and get them, despite how lofty or impossible others might have told you they were. I know I have had dreams that I have told myself are too difficult to fulfill, but if I really want them and work hard for them, I know I will be able to succeed. Thank you so much for sharing these experiences!

    Like

  2. Exceptional read, I simply passed this particular onto the colleague who was simply doing a tiny research with that. And he really bought me lunch since i found it regarding him look So permit me to rephrase that.

    Like

  3. There are some fascinating points in time in this post but I dont know if I see every one of them center for you to heart. There exists some credibility but I is going to take hold viewpoint until My spouse and i look into the idea further. Piece of content , thanks and now we want much more! Added to FeedBurner also

    Like

Leave a Reply

